I have a job 3

I just crunched the numbers and it looks like I will have to find a second job on order to meet my bills but will just go with the one job for now.

I start tomorrow morning, training. I will be trained in the morning but will work the second shift. 12 noon to 7 pm 6 days a week. M-F straight time Sat time and a half. One dollar over minimum wage. This is the place that asked me to November ‘if I offered you the job would you take it?’ and I said no. He gave me his card and said to call if I changed my mind. I called him over a week ago and he said he didn’t have anything then but it could change. He called me yesterday and set up an appointment for this morning. So I had a mini-interview.

I can say that he is the most interesting interviewer I have had yet. Today I found out that he used to live in Traverse City, Michigan. I had to call two people to cancel interviews scheduled for later today and tomorrow. Still have one more call to make. I am of course vastly overqualified for the job but that is life. The job description did indicate that management positions would be offered for the right person. And it stated that this would happen quickly so we will see what we will see.

During the mini-interview he asked me some questions based on the job application that I filled out over a week ago. He stated ‘this looks like temp agencies’ and I said ‘Well E…… was permanent’. He asked ‘what happened?’, I said ‘it didn’t work out.’ He said ‘so he let you go’ and I said ‘I made a mistake, no one is perfect and he was very happy with me until I made the mistake.’ Then I said ‘you can call him I am sure he would give me a good recommendation’.

I gave him a small list of Michigan references so some of you may get a call or an email. The job application references were personal and the list I gave him was former supervisors. Let me know if he calls you or emails you.

The job description indicated the possibility of overtime so I may get enough overtime to pay all my bills. Some of you are chomping at the bit by now wondering so tell us already what are you going to be doing?

The next time you take some clothing to the dry cleaners the person you hand the clothing to that takes your name and address and tells you how much it will be that person is going to be me 🙂

My new boss said ‘I am confident that you have the skills to do the job more skills than are needed, so I am going to offer you $8, but I am not paying for the skills…’ then said something I don’t remember. So here is a guy that is not afraid to offer me a job that I am overqualified for. Perhaps the first time he interviewed me he had some plans as to what he would do with me. The job description also indicates that they promote from within. As I recall we discussed my academic background in the first interview and in this interview he did comment that I have a bachelor’s degree. He asked what the degree was in.

So I will keep you all updated as to how things go.

Leave a comment